Food ❤ · Travel ❤

DAY 2 OF JAPAN- What to eat in Nishiki Market? (Kyoto)

How to get to Japan? Accommodation and Travel ~

Day 1 – Venturing Kyoto

Hello guys !!! If you want more information about the previous days, the links are above!

We went to Kyoto’s Nishiki Market and Nara on day 2 but i am going to split the post into two to make reading easier !

so when you hear the name Nishiki Market, what would be the first thing that comes to your mind?

YESSS ! FOOD ! Be it vegetables or fish or meat or even seafood! HAHAHA !

Nishiki Market is one of Kyoto’s famous landmark, with food stores that lead to a shrine and various shopping stores scattered along the shrine.

Without further delay, let us move onto the food that we tried in Nishiki Market!

  1. Octopus and Quail Egg (300 YEN)

I actually did research and people would always exclaim that this is a delicacy although I find it cruel to stuff a quail egg into an octopus’s head *gasp*

Okay, honestly, I am even more cruel to eat it lor *sigh*

Anyway, the octopus was delicious *guilty* HAHA~

The stall vendors also handled the food very well by covering it so it would not be exposed to the air/get dirty/attract insects

Verdict: 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

2. Tamago Roll (390 YEN)

This pizza looking Tamago actually caught my eye so I got it.

I find it delicious but its kinda cool (the feeling that it was left out in the open for too long)?? I would prefer it to be either cold or hot. Its more towards the neutral side which makes me feel weird.

Still, this is due to my personal preference and the egg is still considered delicious!

They also sell other types of egg rolls!

Verdict: 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

3. Yuzu Juice (370 YEN)

Yuzu is a famous fruit in Japan ! The drink is refreshing, cooling and yummy! Even better if you just ate fried food! *thumbs up *

Verdict: 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

4. Tako Yaki (200 YEN)

Okay honestly I used to think this was super delicious until I tried the ones in Osaka hahaha ~

The Tako-yaki is nicer, incomparable to the ones in Singapore omg.

Also, priced at 200 yen, it’s very reasonable.

Although it is not as good as Osaka’s, it is delicious and mouth watering ~

Hence, I am still going to give it a 5 thumbs up.

Verdict: 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

5. Sashimi Sticks (250 YEN)

Fresh Thick Sashimi on a stick OMG like ice lollies HAHA but sliced into cubes ~

The vendors will pour lemon juice generously on the sashimi sticks *starry-eyed*

The salmon is which and delicious, definitely super worth the money OMG

Also, condiments such as wasabi and shoe are by the side ❤

Verdict: 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

6.Kotohoka Kyoto Niku- which translates to Kyoto’s beef bun (450 YEN)

Well, honestly I was quite disappointed with the number of fillings in it ! So little!

The bun itself is super delicious but I feel that gauging from the price why so stingy with the beef *frowns*

Also the beef was just so-so. No sauce, nothing flavourful.

The bun skin was tender though.

Although I would praise them for passing me a hot bun~

Verdict: 👍🏻👍🏻

#note for 7 and 8 they combined  the 2 together but the taste is so different so I separated the two!

Above: Dango, Below: Egg plant

  1. Egg plant on a stick (100 YEN)

This is delicious. Legit. I never tasted such yummy eggplant ❤ along with the sauce that compliments it, so here I am complimenting it now ~

verdict: 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

  1. Dango on a stick (100 YEN)

I would not say the same for the dango. I am so sorry but the thing was so sticky that it stuck to my teeth and I had a hard time getting the thing out 😦

The sauce does not match the dango and it was disgusting. it is like a dark sauce (bitter) on top of something sweet.

verdict: – nooo

9.Soy milk doughnuts

This is INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS OMG I mean considering the fact that they fried the doughnuts, this was really perfect because it DID NOT have any after oil taste. omg.

The soy milk can be felt in the doughnuts ~ Its not too strong , not too mild. Just right.

Verdict: 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

10. SENBEI

What more can I say omg after so many 5 thumbs up review HAHAHA ~ This is delicious! I can feel the soya sauce taste omg and its super crispy!!!

verdict: 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

HOW DO I FEEL AFTER VISITING NISHIKI MARKET:  JUST TAKE MY MONEY AND GIMME THE FOOD OMG.

It is literally like a food paradise and we haven’t even reached Osaka which is a renowned food paradise omg. Spare me, i can feel the fats coming yet my brain kept telling me, “HEY JUST EAT!”

So these are the food that me and bf tried, but there are still various stalls around selling raw food, souvenirs, snacks and so on.

Selling raw fish~

selling pet food ~

Self grill mochi station HAHA how cool is that !

Matcha machine !

A closer view !

Nuts !

Souvenir Shops!

Restaurants in there !

They even sold rice !

Came across a snoopy’s character cafe ! cute !

Snack Shops !

Bentos !

SAKE ! (Japanese Wine)

Raw meat !

Socks !

MOMO CHICKEN (bf literally laughed because momo was my nickname that he gave)

Fish cakes ~

Fresh pickles were also displayed for sampling ~

At the end of the Nishiki Market Trail, you would be able to see a shrine and horizontal would be shops scattered around (clothes, accessories etc)

We went into the shrine to pray and then we went to DAISO which was just 2 shops away ~

AND EVERYTHING WAS 100 YEN !!!! OMG

I literally stood at the food corner looking at the food all the way. JUST TAKE MY MONEY TAKE MY MONEY AND GIVE ME THE FOOD . HAHAHA ~

😱😱😱

 this concludes our trip to Nishiki Market!

Leave a Reply

